Four Children’s Laureates have appeared at the Hastings Storytelling Festival. Here’s a bit about them!


Sir Quentin Blake (Festival Patron)
Cartoonistillustrator and children’s writer Sir Quentin may be known best for illustrating books written by Roald Dahl. For his lasting contribution as a children’s illustrator he won the biennial, international Hans Christian Andersen Award in 2002, the highest recognition available to creators of children’s books. From 1999 to 2001 he was the inaugural British Children’s Laureate. He is a patron of the Association of Illustrators.






Lauren Child (2017)
Writer and illustrator, Lauren Child is best known for the Charlie and Lola picture books and the Clarice Bean series of picture books and novels. She wrote the series of Ruby Redfort.  Lauren Child introduced Charlie and Lola in 2000 with I Will Not Ever Never Eat A Tomato and won the annual Kate Greenaway Medal from the Library Association for the year’s most “distinguished illustration in a book for children”.





©James Jordan

Dame Jacqueline Wilson (2016)
Jacqueline Wilson’s children’s novels frequently feature themes of adoptiondivorce and mental illness, and have therefore attracted controversy. For her lifetime contribution as a children’s writer, Wilson was a UK nominee for the international Hans Christian Andersen Award in 2014.








Michael Morpurgo

Michael Morpurgo (2015)
Author, poet, playwright, and librettist, Michael Morpurgo is known best for children’s novels such as War Horse (1982). His work is noted for its “magical storytelling”, for recurring themes such as the triumph of an outsider or survival, for characters’ relationships with nature, and for vivid settings such as the Cornish coast or World War I. Morpurgo became the third British Children’s Laureate, from 2003 to 2005.